Maybe Tomorrow


flags-250x180I am in a bad place. Recently I participated in the 38 Degrees day of action against TTIP. I did my good deed in Cambridge, supposedly an intellectual city – well you can scrap that notion. The people in Cambridge are just as self-serving and politically myopic as anywhere else. My spiel was something like – Save the NHS, stop TTIP – not quite all-encompassing but hopefully dramatic enough to halt people in their tracks so they could learn more about it. “Save the NHS? Why, what’s happening.”

For the majority my words floated over their heads: “Not today, thank you.” “No, thank you.” accompanied by head shakes and little looks of contempt.

Well, if not today then when? When it’s too late? When the NHS has gone? “What do you mean it will cost £800 to fix Johnny? When did that come in?” When you were not looking.

I was astonished by the political apathy and the tight-lipped me obsession gripping most of the passers-by.  It’s as though the wider community does not exist. As though institutions like the NHS are pariahs and only the free market can offer the Samaritan’s breast to those in need. Well the free market’s paps are dry.

What’s the problem with TTIP? Here are two links to get you started. Around the world board room slickers are waiting to sign up for easy money – send them home empty-handed:

http://www.voxeu.org/article/problem-ttip

http://www.newropeans-magazine.info/TTIP-and-democracy-where-is-the-problem_a92.html

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics, The Void

Leave a comment